top of page
  • Writer's picturechaithanya ganesh

The Architectural Movements: Classical


Architecture is the process and product of planning, designing, and constructing. Different styles of architecture exist within this wide concept and field.

Architectural styles can be collectively characterized by the features that make a building or any other structure notable or historically identifiable. Architectural styles travel across the nations and each one seems to evolve and exists in different adaptive forms.

Quality, characteristics, and uses dominate the feature.

Some styles are recognized all around the world and the most prominent ones among them are as follows:

- Greek and Roman Classical Architecture.

- Gothic Architecture.

- Baroque.

- Neoclassical Architecture.

- Victorian Architecture.

- Modern Architecture.

- Post-Modern Architecture.

- Neofuturist Architecture.

In this blog, we will be discussing in detail Greek and Roman Classical Architecture or Classical Architecture.


Classical architecture refers to a style of buildings originally constructed by the Ancient Greeks and Romans, especially between the fifth century BC in Greece and the third century AD in Rome.

Architectural elements are the unique details and component parts that, together, form the architectural style of houses, buildings, and structures.

The main elements that signify classical architecture are symmetry, columns, rectangular windows, and marbles. This style was revived over many years and was quoted differently in different places.

The three major orders that describe this approach to this design better are Doric, Ionic and Corinthian. These orders describe the form and decoration of Greek and Roman columns.

The Doric order is characterized by a plain, unadorned column capital and a column that rests directly on the stylobate of the temple without a base.

Source: ( Doric order )

The Doric entablature includes a frieze composed of triglyphs, vertical plaques with three divisions, metopes, square spaces for either painted or sculpted decoration.

Ionic order is mostly recognized by its columns. Every column is made of a base, a shaft, and the volute on top. In this order, the volute is shaped like scrolls or spirals.

Source: ( Ionic order )

In the third order of classical architecture Corinthian, is represented by the thin and fluted columns, meaning they had a series of vertical lines cut into the surface. The style tended to be slender and elegant.

Source: ( Corinthian order )

The most striking element of the Corinthian order was its very decorative capital with a design of scrolls and unfurled acanthus leaves.

Tuscan and Composite are two other orders in classical architecture that are not as prominent as the other three.

Tuscan order is influenced by Doric order with un-fluted columns and a simpler entablature with no triglyphs or guttae

And composite order is a mixed order of voluted of Ionic and acanthus leaves of the Corinthian order.

This historical style of architecture originated from Greece and Rome projecting features of boldness, humanity and strength is very important in the study of architecture because it points directly to the understanding of broad principles such as symmetry, proportion, and balance, which are necessary for designing in any architectural style, a firm understanding of classical foundations can be applied to all architectural styles.

"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.” – Leonardo da Vinci